RPS providing Technical, Environmental & Waste Consultancy Services

RPS has recently been appointed by the local authorities of Ireland to assist and support them in the preparation of Regional Waste Management Plans for three regions covering all of the Republic of Ireland.

The appointment also includes for the completion of Strategic Environmental Assessment and Appropriate Assessments for each of the plans. These plans are the third generation of regional waste planning documents to be prepared in the state.

This project marks a significant change for waste management planning in Ireland. Previously the country was divided into ten regional areas with a waste plan setting out a framework for managing wastes within the functional boundaries. A consolidation of the regional structure has reduced to three the waste regions in the state.

The replacement plans will again provide a framework for the management of wastes within the catchment while also recognising the movement of wastes in the market. Waste moves daily across regional boundaries, throughout the state and increasingly abroad for treatment. The new plans need to reflect the dynamics of the market while planning for sustainable infrastructure identified as a priority. Other important issues which will be addressed include the exporting of residual wastes for energy recovery and the management of household waste.

This appointment continues RPS’ long term involvement in waste planning in Ireland having previously prepared first generation and second generation plans for many regional authorities.

The project is expected to last for 12 months with the final Waste Plans and associated environmental documents due to be published by the end of March 2015. The new plans will cover the period 2015 to 2021.

More Information
Regional waste management plans Weblinks

Dublin Region (Dublin City, Dunlaoghaire/Rathdown, South Dublin, Fingal)

Cork County Council

Cork City Council

Connaught Region (Galway City and County, Leitrim, Mayo, Roscommon, Sligo)

South East Region (Waterford City & County, Carlow, Kilkenny, South Tipperary, Wexford)

Clare/Kerry/Limerick Region

North East Region (Cavan, Louth, Meath, Monaghan)

Midlands Region (Laois, Longford, North Tipperary, Offaly, Westmeath)




Source: envirocentre.ie