Irish companies leading a decade of sustainable energy excellence

Thirty-Two  innovative energy saving initiatives from business, public and community sectors, have been shortlisted for the 2013 Sustainable Energy Awards. In addition, marking the Awards’ 10th anniversary, 10 past winners of the Sustainable Energy Awards have also been shortlisted for the Legacy Award This award recognises individuals or organisations instrumental in changing the sustainable energy landscape over the last 10 years. Together with other Awards entrants, they have achieved energy savings of hundreds of millions of euro in the last decade.

Sponsored by Electric Ireland, with the Irish Independent as media partner, the Awards recognise organisations of all sizes in all sectors in Ireland who have excelled in reducing energy demand and CO2emissions. To mark the 10th anniversary the competition features new categories and is now open to communities that have implemented energy efficiency projects across multiple sectors.

For the first time since the Awards were established, the Legacy Award finalists will now face a public online vote to make it through to the next round. The companies who will compete for this prestigious title are; Astellas Ireland (Kerry Plant), BDP, Citi, Dalkia, Department of Education and Skills, Diageo Ireland, Intel Ireland, Kerry County Council and Local Authorities, Musgrave Group, and the University College Cork / Tyndall National Institute. To vote for the Legacy Award finalists, go to

The finalists in the new Community category are; the Irish Farmers Association, Carlow County Council’s Bagenalstown Energy Upgrade and the Tipperary Energy Agency while the Small Business category will see REL, Riverside Park Hotel, SuperValu Talbot Street and Sirus Group going head-to-head at this year’s Awards.

The winners will be announced at a gala event in The Shelbourne Hotel in Dublin on Thursday 21st November 2013

2013 Sustainable Energy Awards Shortlist
Category 1 – Legacy

  • Astellas Ireland (Kerry Plant)
  • Building Design Partnership (BDP)
  • Citi
  • Dalkia
  • Department of Education and Skills
  • Diageo Ireland
  • Intel Ireland
  • Kerry County Council and Local Authorities
  • Musgrave Group
  • University College Cork / Tyndall National Institute

Category 2 – Research

  • Luas, Transdev Dublin, Railway Procurement Agency and DIT
  • Benson
  • University College Dublin

Category 3 – Innovation

  • Microsoft
  • Dawn Meats
  • Electrical Pump Services

Category 4 – Collaboration

  • Carton Brothers
  • Lisheen Mine
  • Musgrave Retail Partners Ireland

Category 5 – Environment

  • Commissioners of Irish Lights
  • Electrical Pump Services Tullamore Waste Water Treatment Plant
  • Bord Gais Networks
  • Cosgrave Developments

Category 6 – Public Sector

  • North Tipperary County Council (Emly Tidy Towns)
  • Cork Airport
  • Dublin Airport Authority Terminal 2
  • Naval Service

Category 7 – Small Business

  • REL
  • Riverside Park Hotel
  • Musgrave Retail Partners Ireland
  • Sirus Group and Brown Thomas

Category 8 – Community

  • Irish Farmers Association
  • Carlow County Council for its Bagenalstown Energy Upgrade
  • Tipperary Energy Agency

Category 9 – Industry

  • St James’s Gate Brewery
  • Queally Group
  • MSD Brinny
  • Novartis Ringaskiddy Limited

Category 10 – Leadership

  • GlaxoSmithKline
  • Diageo Ireland
  • Aurivo Dairy Ingredients
  • Dalkia