Wind Energy Pioneer Receives European Award

The European wind energy sector’s most prestigious award, the Poul la Cour prize, has been presented to Henrik Stiesdal, chief technology officer at Siemens Wind Power. Henrik Stiesdal was one of the pioneers of modern wind energy technology and has helped guide its development ever since.

Since 1993, the prize has been awarded to individuals who have pioneered the development of wind power and have achieved exceptional results in the wind community.

In 1978, Henrik Stiesdal met Karl Erik Jorgensen, who was to become his partner in wind turbine development. Their first 15 kilowatt prototype was inaugurated in June 1978 and the following year they delivered to their first customer.

By 1979 series production had begun and the company was named Vestas. Between 1983 and 1986, Henrik Stiesdal helped design the first pitch-regulated wind turbine for Vestas.

In March 1987, he was employed by wind turbine producer Bonus Energy and appointed technical director in 1988. When Siemens acquired Bonus Energy in 2004, this year’s winner of the Poul la Cour price was appointed chief technology officer of Siemens Wind Power.

Leave a Comment