New Offices For Department of the Environment, Heritage and Local Government

John Gormley, TD, Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government, has officially opened his Department’s new office on the Newtown Road in Wexford. There are now almost 200 staff working in the Department of the Environment, Heritage and Local Government’s Wexford office, with more due to arrive in the coming months. The impact of this number of staff now living and working in Wexford will have a beneficial effect on the local economy.

All Divisions of the Department are represented in the Wexford office and many of the Department’s priority policies are being delivered from this office.

The building of 6,500 square metres is situated overlooking the Slaney estuary on the outskirts of Wexford town. The building was commissioned by the Office of Public Works and was designed by Scott Tallon Walker Architects and built by Pierse Construction.

The building is designed and built to be a sustainable building for the 21st century. It incorporates many environmentally friendly features. It has high levels of natural daylight and natural ventilation. Its high performance glazing helps to retain heat in the winter and reduce solar gain in summer.

Other environmental measures include intelligent lighting systems to reduce energy wastage, high insulation standards, water conservation measures including reducing rainfall runoff with a sedum roof and reinforced grass car parking.

“High quality architecture and urban design have a real place in the pursuit of sustainability. I believe this building shows how we get it right when we invest in good quality design and high building standards,” comments Minister Gormley.

Sustainability was a key driver in determining all aspects of the building design and influenced the decision making process at every stage in both design and construction of this office.


Pictured at the opening were (from left to right): Dr Martin Mansergh, Minister of State at the Department of Finance including special responsibility for the Office of Public Works; John Gormley, Minister for Environment, Heritage and Local Government; Sean Connick, Minister of State at the Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food; and Geraldine Tallon, Secretary General, Department of Environment Heritage and Local Government.

Leave a Comment