Finalists announced for the 2016 Sustainable Energy Awards

The finalists have been announced for this year’s Sustainable Energy Awards which encourage and reward excellence in energy management. The Awards, organised by the Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland (SEAI) and sponsored by Enprova, include nine categories: large and small business, community, public sector, innovation, research, leadership, buildings and design. This year, four entrants – Abbott Ireland, Aurivo, Johnson & Johnson (J&J) and Musgraves – have been shortlisted in the Leadership category which is now open to the public to vote for their winning entry at

These four finalists have demonstrated extraordinary leadership and ambition in advancing sustainable energy in their organisations and communities over a prolonged period. Activities include:

  • Abbott Ireland is working towards an ambitious 40% reduction in carbon emissions by 2020 with the six Irish Abbott sites saving 2,700 tonnes of CO2 since 2012.
  • Aurivo is striving to reduce its impact on the environment through energy efficiency and energy from biomass, with recent initiatives offsetting over 8,000 tonnes of CO2
  • Johnson & Johnson is maximising collaboration between four affiliated Irish-based companies to deliver onsite renewable energy generation and reduce CO2emissions by 20% by 2020 .
  • Musgrave Group is supporting 650 retail partners in their 20% energy saving ambition by 2020, with 60 stores a year carrying out energy upgrades and community and charitable donations being made from the annual savings achieved.

Voters can have their say in the winning entry and choose their top three Leadership finalists  before Thursday 13 October 2016.

The winner of the Leadership and other categories will be announced at a gala event on November 3rd in the Royal Hospital Kilmainham, Dublin. To view the full list of finalists for the Sustainable Energy Awards 2016 and read more on their projects visit: